Tags

,

What’s missing in this picture?

It is a quiet, peaceful Monday (Memorial Day celebrated) morning and something seems to be missing in this graveyard. Either there are no veterans buried here, or American flags are not used to decorate veteran graves. I thought it was odd. When I was young, the kids who went to the Methodist church, and those who attended the Christian church joined together on Memorial Day Sunday and walked to the Rolling Prairie graveyard and decorated the veteran’s graves with American flags. I don’t know if the kids still do that in Rolling Prairie, but if they don’t I’m sure the local VFW post sees to it. What is going on, or not going on, in this graveyard I went past this morning? I may visit some more graveyards in the next few days to see if the veteran’s graves have been decorated.

When I went out this morning the sun was shining, it was warm and humid, and there was a slight haze in the air. All of this screamed one thing in my mental ear, “ROAD TRIP!” But that isn’t going to happen. Cindy and I haven’t been on a real road trip vacation in years, and it is unlikely that we will in future years. My version of a road trip vacation means driving on roads that aren’t Interstates, waking up somewhere different every morning, visiting little museums and such as the whim hits us, and not visiting people. Cindy prefers to vacation by flying or driving as fast as possible to one place and then stay there, preferably spending time with friends and relatives when we get to our destination.

We were raised differently and enjoy different modes of travel and types of vacations. She isn’t wrong, but neither am I. She relaxes when surrounded by people she knows, and I relax when I’m not. Still, we have stayed together twenty-two years, so something is obviously right.

