Tags

,

Brown Street Methodist Church

This is one of the first places Cindy and I went to together. I wanted to go (yes me, a church) because Herb Wingard was the minister. Herb was the minister at the Rolling Prairie Methodist Church when I was in junior high school and early high school, and went to church on a regular basis. I had seen his name in the Lafayette newspaper, and wanted to see him. Cindy, being a church goer, said she would go with me. As we were entering the church that morning I saw Herb and told him who I was, and where I knew him from. He looked slightly puzzled, but went with it. During the service he announced that there were visitors there that day, and asked Cindy and me to stand. Cindy was embarrassed because he introduced her as my wife. That came as a shock to her, to me, and to some friends of hers who happened to be in the congregation. Our marriage was a few years off yet. Perhaps he was prescient. Oh, and in case you’re wondering, I was really noticing girls then, and there were some cute ones to notice at church. I was too shy to do anything about it, but at least I was close to them.

I just looked at my Facebook profile a little while ago and noticed that of the three television shows I indicated that I liked, two have been cancelled. It looks like I’ll have to update the profile, but I wonder if I pick other shows if I’m giving them the kiss of death? Do I have some strange power, or do I have bad taste in television? I don’t like “reality” TV and most of the comedy/drama I watch is on the cable networks, not the bigger three. There are a couple of exceptions, Grimm being one, but I spend a lot of time on USA, TNT, and BBC America (on demand). I’ve also been drifting back to PBS for Nova and Masterpiece Mystery. Yes, I know that Nova is science, not drama or comedy, but I have been watching it quite often lately.

Well, it’s time to do the customer survey for Staples and try to win the $5,000 Staples gift card. Yeah, like that’s going to happen.

