Tags

, ,

A view from my desk chair

Here are two things that spark memories. The calendar has a monthly graphic of wildlife stamps. I collect stamps, but I don’t go out of my way to get the wildlife stamps. My dad, however, liked to collect them. He didn’t have an extensive collection of them, but he was proud of the ones he did have. When he died, they came to me. Looking at those stamps, and this calendar, is a reminder of my dad, a great person.

The tennis racquet hangs on the wall because I haven’t used it, or any other racquet, since I moved to Lafayette. In fact I hadn’t played tennis the last few years I lived in Auburn.  A few of us from the office used to go to one of the parks in Auburn after work on nice days. We would bat the ball around and pretend we knew what we were doing. I used to flip my racquet in the air and catch it before it hit the ground. One day I messed up and the racquet came down across the bridge of my nose. I’m pretty sure I didn’t break anything, but my nose swelled up for a day or so. After that I developed a sinus infection. I go over the infection, but a bout two weeks later another one developed. I got over the second infection and a third came along. This went on sporadically for about three years. I will always remember the suffering the tennis racquet brought me because I was showing off.

Now for the good health news. I saw Dr. Moon this afternoon. He took off the dressing on my foot, well his nurse took it off, and he was pleased with the progress. I had popped a couple of stitches, but he didn’t think that was a problem. While I was there he took out four other stitches and covered the wound with a large band-aid. I don’t have to keep the bulky dressing on my foot anymore. I can wear a regular sock on foot, and while I would like to wear my own shoe, I am stuck with the orthopaedic sandal that I have…at least until I see him again next week. Also, I have graduated from a walker to a cane. That means I can get out more often, and will start taking pictures outside again. All in all, it was a good visit to the doctor.

