Tags

,

Mason spent the night with us

He likes to sleep on the family room floor, though he used the guest bedroom Friday night. It has been a long time since he spent two consecutive nights with us. His cousin Jordan spent last night with us as well, but he prefers a bed (smart kid). Right now they are in the basement hooking up the Wii to the newly repaired flat screen TV. We’ll be lucky if they come upstairs to eat with us. They are physically young only once. Some of us revert to that stage again later in life, while some never leave it.

Today is one of those days when I want to compose about something, but it is a topic I don’t care to share with people other than Cindy. I do like my privacy. I suppose I need to put it in a document, digital or hand written, and keep it for myself. That way I can look at it in six months and wonder what the big deal was. Perhaps I’ll feel like sharing it then; but chances are I’ll consider it not worth sharing. 

I looked in the mirror a few minutes ago and decided that today I need to shave. I haven’t touched a razor to my face in over a week, and I’m looking pretty scruffy. I don’t shave every day, I’m retired, but it has been a long time since I have gone this long between shaves. I’ll feel better when I clean up.

The last few days I’ve been listening to a lot of folk music and old timey music. It has suited my mood. Today, however, it is a time for a change. Right now I’m listening to Johnny Rivers sing Summer Rain, next on the playlist is America doing Woman Tonight. I’m not sure what is coming after that, but I’m sure I’ll enjoy it. Earlier this afternoon I was listening to Nancy Wilson. I started listening to her when I was in college. I started because she had been voted best female vocalist in the Playboy Jazz Poll. She deserved it. I’ve come to enjoy other female vocalists over the years, Jane Monheit and Diana Krall are two, but Nancy Wilson always catches my attention with her phrasing and arrangements. I’ll be listening for a long time.

