Tags

This is not the J.H. Rathbone Museum

Am I the only person in Lafayette who has driven past the J.H. Rathbone Museum & Resource Center and thought, “Hmm. I wonder what is in there?” Am I the only person in Lafayette who didn’t know what the museum was? Today I broke down and looked it up on the Internet. It seems that the museum contains items from Knights of Pythias, the Masons and other fraternal organizations. Evidently it is also a resource for Pythian membership records dating from 1888. That leads to my next questions: Who are the Knights of Pythias, and why should I care?

Further research on the Internet told me that the Knights of Pythias is the first fraternal organization chartered by the U.S. Congress back in the 1860’s. Their primary object is to promote friendship among men and to relieve suffering. Oh, and the name of the museum comes from the founder of the organization, Justus H. Rathbone. That’s about all that I could read without losing interest. I was actually hoping that the museum had something to do with Basil Rathbone. That didn’t pan out.

A few weeks ago Cindy and I were watching one of the House Hunters type shows on whichever cable network they are on when the person doing th looking said that she sold clothing at pop-up shops. Neither of us had ever heard that term before, and while I thought I could guess what it was, well, I wasn’t 100% certain. So I decided to Google that term as well today.

The good news is that I was right in my surmise. A pop-up shop is one that doesn’t have a fixed abode, or that is open for more than a short period of time. From what I am reading, these pop-up shops have only been around since the early 2000’s, with an exact date difficult to pin down. Clothing is not the only thing that can be bought at these shops. I would think that the temporary bookstores that come to town every couple of years and stay open only two or three months would qualify. Also there are the Halloween shops that open for a few months each year.

Well, there are two mysteries explained.

