Tags

Maybe it's time to open the pool

The ducks have been coming to our unopened pool for a few years now. This is the first time I have been able to get a photo of them. Maybe they are getting used to me. I didn’t realize they were out there this morning, but as luck would have it I had my cell phone with me and they weren’t frightened off when I came into the back yard. Cindy saw them at the pool yesterday and was pretty excited, as well she should be. This is a good start to what should be a gorgeous day.

One thing I’ve noticed since I started this blog is that my writing style is much freer than when I wrote for the state. When you are a bureaucrat, you have to write like one. After a few years that writing style carried over to my personal writing as well. Maybe that is one of the reasons I received fewer and fewer personal letters. At the time I took it personally and eventually stopped writing letters. It may also be the reason I have never been abler to journal…I bored myself. Gee, maybe I’m not as boring as I thought. I should probably run a readability check and see at what level I am writing. I know when I wrote for the state it was around the 5th or 6th grade level.

OK. I just used an online site to check the above text. According to it I am ranking at the 5.3 grade level on the Flesch-Kincaid and the SMOG index. However the Linsear Write Formula puts me at the 7th grade level. I believe I am going to like the Linsear Write formula. Is it vain, wanting to write at a higher grade level? Yeah, probably. I don’t recall saying I wasn’t vain.

