Tags

I love the gargoyle

I should have waited until Halloween to use a photo of this house. I suppose I could take another of it this autumn when it isn’t as sunny and cheerful. Yep, next time I’ll wait until it is dark and gloomy. I don’t know how many times I have gone past this house and not noticed it. I finally realized that it was there a couple of weeks ago on a dreary, rainy day. I think that I am paying more attention to the places I go since I’ve started looking for a picture to take every day. I’ve even started a list to use for those days when my imagination isn’t up to par.

While I was at the library this morning I came across the Volume 1 of the Fanstagrphics reprints of Prince Valiant which collects the 1937 – 1938 Hal Foster strips in full color. Of course I checked it out. I’ll be enjoying this book and then I’ll go on to the next volume and so on until I’ve worked my way through everything they have in the collection. This is great stuff. There is a biographical piece on Foster in the book. I haven’t finished reading it, but I’ve already learned that Foster’s work on the Tarzan newspaper strip debuted the same day as Buck Rogers. Also in 1929 Tintin debuted in Belgium and Popeye first appeared in Segar’s Thimble Theatre. That was a golden time for comic strips.

When I was a kid we would visit my grandmother in Clinton, IN. Her local newspaper, The Daily Clintonian, ran Thimble Theatre, which, by then, starred Popeye. When the strip started out it featured the Oyl family (Olive, her brother Castor, her father Cole, and her mother Nana). We didn’t have Thimble Theatre at home so I would go through the back issues that my grandmother stacked in one room of the house. It’s funny the things we remember.

