Tags

,

A name designed to inspire confidence in all of the condo owners.

I laugh every time I see this sign, and then I think of all of the Universal Frankenstein movies. I just see images of the townspeople flooding the streets, carrying torches, headed for the windmill or the castle, wanting to burn someone or something. The black and white Universal films are better than the later Hammer films, and even later other films. I particularly dislike the one directed by Kenneth Branagh with Robert De Niro. Even John Cleese couldn’t save that film.

I am also fond of the printed version of Frankenstein that is illustrated by Berni Wrightson. If there was ever a living artist born to illustrate this book, it is Mr. Wrightson. I have been a fan of his work since I first saw it in a comic book, though I don’t remember which book that was. Later I bought a copy of The Studio which is an art book that contains work by Mr. Wrightson, Barry Windsor-Smith, Mike Kaluta, and the late Jeffrey Catherine J0nes. That was the start of my purchases of art books. I don’t own many, but I certainly enjoy those I do have.

***

I mentioned the other day that Marlon perked up and stared at the TV when we were watching West Side Story the other night. I have been trying to get him to watch other television this morning. So far I have tried a concert DVD of Carly Simon and a VHS tape of Eric Clapton. No luck. Her either leaves the room or lies and dozes on the sofa. This afternoon I believe I’ll try Linda Ronstadt and Diana Krall. If those two ladies don’t work…well I have more to choose from tomorrow. Perhaps The Who or Bonnie Raitt. Or, I could pop in some jazz by The Dave Brubeck Quartet, Miles Davis, or Buddy Rich. I don’t know how Marlon will react to just having bands with no vocals. Somehow I doubt if he would enjoy the DVDs as much as I do. Or, I could try other movie musicals. I need t give it some thought.

