Tags

Photos of musical artists.

Cindy and I turned our living room into a music room, or rather, a room dedicated to listening to music. There are many images of musical artists as well as art prints and wall sculptures in the room. Shown in this photo is a grouping of pictures of some of my favorite artists. I will admit to copying the pictures from the Internet, printing them, and displaying them. People who visit will often ask me who is in one or more of the pictures. For your edification they are, from left to right and top to bottom: Tom Paxton, Paul Desmond and Dave Brubeck, Eric Clapton, Peter (Yarrow) (Noel) Paul (Stookey) & Mary (Travers) (all hiding in the glare from the camera flash), Diana Krall, Jimmy Buffett, Joan Baez, The (original) Kingston Trio (Dave Guard – Bob Shane – and Nick Reynolds), Bonnie Raitt, Bob Dylan, Stan Getz, and Janis Joplin. 

As you can tell, I’m heavy on the folk music. Of all these artists, the only ones I’ve seen in person are Tom Paxton, PP&M, Desmond & Brubeck as part of the Dave Brubeck Quartet and Brubeck as part of a newer version of the Quartet. I would happily pay to see any of these performers, except for the fact that sadly six or seven have passed on. Their music, happily, lives on in recordings.

Earlier this morning I watched a VHS tape of an Eric Clapton concert that was performed in England in the mid 80’s. The picture quality was bad, but the sound was great. Phil Collins was playing drums in the group and sang In the Air Tonight. The tape, from a broadcast on Showtime, lasted only an hour, so I wonder what was cut for the show. They did include great versions of White Room, Layla, and Sunshine of Your Love. Unless I can find a DVD version of the show, I’ll need to Covert it to DVD to preserve what I do have. The DVD should last longer than the tape. I hope.

