Beautiful blue sky in the background.

Here is another decrepit building that I find fascinating. So much of our history is falling apart, not being maintained and not being restored. I’m sure that many people think we should let it go in order to make room for the new. I guess I’m getting more nostalgic as I grow older.

Right now I’m listening to Duke Ellington & his orchestra playing Take The ‘A’ Train, a live recording from the late 50’s or early 60’s. It was on a vinyl album I bought when I was in the army, stationed in Germany. The album was title Horizons du Jazz and was a compilation album of live recordings by Louis Armstrong, Duke Ellington, Dave Brubeck and Miles Davis. I bought a number of albums while I was stationed in Heidelberg. Some had liner notes that were in German, so I have no idea what they said. Liner notes are another thing that have pretty much gone the way of wooden barns, and that’s another shame.

On a more positive note, it is a beautiful day outside. I may even do some yard work, but no promises. Time seems to have a way of slipping away during the day. I mark it as a good sign that I’m getting the blog written earlier in the day. perhaps I can complete it before 12:30. I’ll definitely finish before I have lunch. After that, the afternoon is open. The only other thing on the schedule is cooking dinner, and unless I make a last-minute change, I have an idea for a new menu item. I love trying new things in the kitchen. If it turns out alright, I’ll put the recipe in tomorrow. If it isn’t so good, expect a different topic.

Wow, it looks like I’m done before noon!

