In one of the nicer neighborhoods

I decided to cruise through one of the better neighborhoods rather than look for an abandoned building. This house is definitely in one of the better neighborhoods. I was half afraid that by stopping long enough to take a picture or two I would be inviting the wrath of the Neighborhood Watch. I half expected someone to come up to me, beat me senseless, smash my camera, and then call the police. The watch must have needed winding because the only other person I saw was a mail carrier. The residents evidently don’t know that burglars will be casing their homes during daylight hours.

After yesterday’s sunny and 60’s, this morning felt downright raw.  The overcast skies didn’t help my navigation through some areas of town that I wasn’t familiar with. I got turned around and found myself on dead-end streets more than once. There is probably a metaphor hidden in there somewhere, but I’m no about to find it. Metaphors are supposed to be a sign of genius, so I am left out.

Now that it is later in the day the sun is out again, but the temperature didn’t get nearly as high today. I went with Cindy to meet with the doctor who is going to do the surgery on her torn rotator cuff. He gave her a prescription for pain killers and I volunteered to get it filled. Who knew it would take as long as it did.

As I pulled into the parking lot at the drugstore I noticed an elderly man (yes, older than me) walking in the door. He had used two parking slots, parking at an angle, as near the door as he could get. I went back to the prescription drop-off window and saw him there. He was taking a box out of a bag he was carrying and said to the young lady that he needed test strips for the meter in the box. She obviously knew him because she called him by name without asking for any ID. She looked him up on her computer and told him that the test strips he normally bought with a prescription would not work in the meter he had given her. He said he didn’t know about that. Someone had given him this meter and taken away his old one. “Who did that?” she asked. He wasn’t sure, someone in the store. She then started questioning everyone in the pharmacy area if they had taken his old meter. No one knew what she was talking about. At that point a woman at another window called me over and took the prescription I presented to her. After verifying who I was, and that I knew who the doctor was, and  that I knew my wife, and that my wife knew how to take the pain killers she told me it would be about fifteen minutes. So I spent some time strolling the aisles.

After about ten minutes I decided to have a seat and wait, hoping the full fifteen minutes wouldn’t be needed. I saw that the elderly man was still talking to the woman in the first window, and that she had been joined by another woman who was also trying to help her. As I eavesdropped I heard the second woman call the elderly man’s doctor’s office to see if they could help. She then turned to him and said that they had given him the new meter at the doctor’s office because he told them his old meter didn’t work, but that they had returned the old meter to him. At that point a young man walked in with three children, all under the age of six, and I lost interest in what was happening at the first window.

But then the elderly man walked over to the cashier to pay for a prescription…just before they called my name. As I waited for him to complete his transaction the cashier asked him if he had a CVS Extra Care Card. He then spent three to five minutes looking through his wallet for the card. Twice the cahier told him they could look it up with his telephone number, but he ignored that and continued searching. Finally he looked at the cashier and said, “What am I looking for?” At that point the cahier just rang up his purchase and told him it would be $40. The elderly man asked if he could pay with cash, and was assured that he could. He asked if he would get a receipt, and again was told yes. He paid and I stepped up to the counter. It took about sixty seconds for me to complete my business there.

As I went to my car I saw that the elderly man was sitting in his car, looking through a bag of something. I left. n the way home I was stopped by a train at one o the few railroad crossings left in Lafayette. Quite the afternoon.

