Tags

Tagged and sitting on a siding

It was another beautiful morning, but I couldn’t spend a lot of time searching for something to photograph, errands to run, don’t you know. So I went to my backup list of things or places to get a photo of on days like this, when I don’t have the time needed to be more selective.

I’ve been listening to Diana Krall, Rosemary Clooney, Jane Monheit, Dave Brubeck and Joe Sample (in and out of The Crusaders) most of the day. Then I threw in some Fleetwood Mac for variety. I love to listen to female vocalists singing the standards. Great songs sung by women with great voices, not to mention Diana Krall’s piano playing, puts me in a mellow mood. Brubeck is my all-time favorite jazz artist. I’ve been listening to him since 1965, and have loved everything I’ve heard and/or watched. He is my personal jazz god. I like listening to Ellington, Basie, and others but Brubeck stands above them in my mind. Maybe it’s because the first jazz album I bought was by the Dave Brubeck Quartet, or because the first jazz concert I attended was the Dave Brubeck Quartet. He has consistently composed or interpreted other’s works at a high level. I never feel like he gives anything less than his best.

Tonight is Oscar night. I’ll be taking a pass on the show and finding out all (and more) than I need to know about it tomorrow. I have never enjoyed watching all of those egoists congratulating each other on their magnificence. The same is true of the Emmy’s, the Grammy’s, the SAG awards, the Tony’s, and a slew more that I couldn’t name or care less about. We live in a time of self-proclaimed celebrity. And now “reality TV” let’s the common, and in some casesvery common people show us what they are willing to do just so they can appear on a television screen. I understand why the television networks flood us with “reality TV,” but I don’t understand why anyone watches it. But that’s just my opinion.

