Tags

, ,

South of town on a rainy morning.

It was a light rain, so you can’t see it in the picture. Looking at this shot, it is hard to believe we are in the middle of winter. If it stays this way much longer we will have daffodils popping up and blooming.

 As I write today I’m listening to MP3s recorded by Shannon Lipps and Gordon Highland, together they are Winebox. You can check them out at GordonHighland.com. Shannon is a talented young woman in Kansas City, and she happens to be our niece. When last we saw her perform she was singing standards for the most part, now she is singing more contemporary music…at least it seems contemporary to me…my tastes are still pretty much stuck in the 60’s and 70’s. Still, I like the sound that Winebox is putting out. Give them a try, you might find yourself liking the music.
 
 I was disappointed yesterday evening because no one televised the IU/NCCU game live. I was afraid that I would be so bored that I would actually turn on the 20th Republican Presidential candidate debate. I checked out the Big Ten network and found out they were doing a delayed broadcast of the game at 10:30, so I filled in the time getting caught up on CSI using on demand, and then watching the Royal Pains season finale. I was able to skip the debate entirely. When you compare modern debates to the first televised debate between John F. Kennedy and Richard Nixon you can see why the modern debates more closely resemble Survivor or Big Brother. A couple of years ago Cindy and I saw a tape of the Kennedy/Nixon debate and were impressed with the knowledge and presentation skills of both men, not to mention the respect they showed each other. When did we as a country start tolerating and rewarding rudeness and mediocrity? It’s a puzzle to me.
