A few of the people I’ve been.

I am a pack rat. Just ask my wife. I have boxes of things that I just won’t throw away. I was moving some things earlier today and came across a couple of plastic boxes that held “stuff” from my past. As I was going through them I realized that here was a partial history of the changes I’ve gone through in my life. I took a photo of some of them for today’s blog.

They are not in chronological order, but let me walk you briefly through the various cards. In the upper left corner is the last business card I had when working for the state of Indiana. As you can see, if your eyesight is good, I was the ES (Employment Service) Supervisor. WorkOne was the name we were working under at that time.

To the right of that business card is one of my draft cards. My classification was 1-D, which meant I was a student in ROTC and had a deferment. When I dropped out of college my friendly draft board immediately changed my classification to 1-A. In 1969 that classification meant “pick him up and cart him off to basic training.” I went through the letter from my draft board, going to Chicago for my physical and flying to Ft. Polk, LA within about a three-month period.

To the right of the draft card is a business card, front and back, that I used after I moved to Lafayette to run the Recruitment & Screening Center the Indiana Employment & Training Services (different name, same agency) set up for the Subaru-Isuzu plant being built in Lafayette. The back of the business card has the same information as the front, only in Japanese. I remember that the state would only pay for the business cards if they were ordered from the agency print shop in Indianapolis. However, the print shop down there could not print the Japanese, so they subcontracted the work to a printer in Lafayette. If they had let us order the cards locally we could have shaved about two months off the time it took to get them.

In the middle of the picture is a student ID card from my undergrad days in Bloomington. On top of it is a student ID card from my days in grad school at IUSB. And on top of that is a membership card in the Arizona English Teacher Association. Why was I a member when I had never taught English in Arizona? I had to join in order to receive their English teacher journal.

To the left of those cards is my business card from my second stint working at the admin office in Indianapolis for the Indiana Department of Workforce Development (different name, same agency). As you may be able to see, I was in the Dislocated Workers Unit, specializing in NAFTA-TAA. I was working for Sharon Langlotz back then.

To the right of my student IDs is a membership card in the Teamster’s Union. My first job upon discharge from the army was in a union shop. The Teamster’s, bless ’em, made sure I received the princely sum of $3.85/hour. I remember wondering where they had gotten their reputation as bulldog bargainers. It’s more like they willingly learned how to roll over. Oh, well. I only stayed there three months while I waited to start back in college.

The business card in the bottom right corner was from my days after the I had been co-manager in the Lafayette Local Office of Indiana Workforce Development (slightly different name, same agency). Indianapolis wanted my position slot back on their manning table, so I took a demotion and a change of duty assignment (in-house politics involved?). It was a not a happy move on my part, but not to worry, within a few months I was promoted into my first job in the admin office in Indy.

