A man-made hole in the ground.

I don’t know why this culvert intrigues me, but it has since the first time I saw it years ago. This is, however, the first time I took a picture of it. It always draws my attention when the grass is green, not when there is snow cover or dry brown grass. Spring is when I usually find myself driving past and looking at it. This year, in February no less, the grass is green. Amazing. 

I would like to think that if I were a child again I would walk down and through the culvert. The reality is that if I were a child I would be afraid to walk through it because I know my mother would yell at me for ruining my shoes. As an older person I might think to remove my shoes and socks before walking into the culvert; but again, I would also think that I am going to step on something slimy, or step on a broken bottle, cut my foot and die from tetanus. OK, I’m not a risk taker. But I still like the culvert.
 
It is another beautiful day today. The sun is shining and I could go without a jacket outside if I wanted to. I wonder if we will ever get a large snowfall this winter? I hope so. I love being snowed in. The only guilt I ever have is over shoveling the snow, or actually, not shoveling the snow. If Cindy ever retires I’ll probably lose that guilt as well.
